The Siwa Oasis

 

 

Geography

 

The oasis of Siwa is a small paradise with an overwhelming flora, 590 miles southwest of Alexandria, in the heart of the desert, between a rocky desert in the west, a sand desert in the east and the Qattara Depression in the northeast.

 

ShaliSiwa is situated in a closed basin with the lowest point lying 17m below sea level. It covers an area of 750 square kilometers with a length of 80km in east-west and a width of 25km in north-south direction.

Siwa town itself is fairly young. It lies immediately east of Shali, a typical Sahara mountain fortress, which served the local Berber people as their residence and, at the same time, their defence city. After having been destroyed in an environmental disaster in 1926, it and was gradually abandoned.

The systematic resettlement of the population of Shali to Siwa started in 1944 and
in 1962, Siwa received its town charter.
Oasenkern
East of the ruins of the former fortress of Shali is the marketplace of Siwa.
North of this market most of the public facilities are situated such as mosques, city hall, police, bus station, bank, hospital, post office, telephone exchange, tourist information and the cultural centre with a theater.

North and east of this square there are also most of the restaurants, hotels, clinics, pharmacies, mini-marts, internet cafes and a gas station. In the south you find a spacious sports complex.

It is not a very big town. Most of the public transport even nowadays is still done by donkey cart.

 

Society top

 

The inhabitants of Siwa are Berbers mixed with Bedouins and the descendants of Sudanese slaves. The oasis has altogether about 25 000 inhabitants living in six settlements. The town of Siwa with about 12 000 inhabitants is the economic center of the oasis. The other places are Aghurmi, Abu Shuruf, Kamisa, Balad Al Rum and Bahi Al Din, in descending sequence according to their population.

 

BevölkerungDie übrigen Orte sind Aghurmi, Abu Shuruf, Kamisa, Balad al Rum, und Bahi al Din, in nach Bevölkerung absteigender Folge.

 

The language spoken in Siwa is the Berber language Siwi, thus making the oasis a linguistic island, the only place in Egypt where the Berber language is spoken, with an independent cultural development.

Manners and customs of the inhabitants of Siwa which have survived till today seem rather strange even to Egyptians.

This culture is reflected – among others -  in a rich and unique variety of craft products such as traditional clothing and silver jewellery, carpets, baskets and other household furniture.

An impressive collection of this particular cultural style is recently exhibited in a small museum in the centre of the city.Freitagsmarkt

Ever since early Pharaonic times, date palms and olive trees have formed the basis of life of the oasis inhabitants. Today, the estimated number of date palms is 300 000 and of olive trees 70 000.

For local consumption also vegetables are cultivated as well as figs, grapes, apricots, oranges and other agricultural products.

 

Historytop

 

The name of Siwa is derived from the old Egyptian name of “Sekhetam” which means “land of palms”.

 

DattelpalmenThe oasis of Siwa has a long and eventful history. Finds of flint from the Neolithic period prove that the oasis was settled very early. At the time of the Pharaohs it was situated in the border area between the Egyptian and the Libyan peoples.

The oldest still existing ruin, the Temple of the Oracle of Amun, goes back to the time of the 26th dynasty of Pharaohs (663 – 525 BC) and was built by King Amosis. The Amun cult had a very strong influence on the people of the Mediterranean region for a long time.

The Persian King Cambyses tried to occupy Siwa and to destroy the temple. This was, however, prevented by the people of Siwa. After this campaign, the importance of the oracle of Siwa increased even more in comparison with other oracles (even the one of Delphi) and was visited regularly by high personalities of the ancient world.

 

Orakel-TempelThus, Alexander the Great came to the Oracle of Siwa in 331 BC in order to get the confirmation there, that he was the ruler of the world.

Although the oracle was virtually abolished in 23 BC already, the temple was still in use in 160 AD. The actual end of the oracle operation can be dated back to the 3rd – 4th century AD. In the 6th century the temple was closed down because of the anti-heathen policy of the Roman emperor Justinian.

Christian elements can be found in Siwa from the 4th century on. In the 6th and 7th century, the oasis was subject to heavy military conflicts.

TotenbergFrom 640-42 AD Muslim armies conquered Egypt and spread Islam throughout the country, the western desert, however, was spared. Only in the 11th century, Christianity was driven out of Siwa by Islam. Other sources date the definite replacement of Christianity by Islam at the 14th century.

It is due to the ”Siwa manuscript” only, written by a Briton named Brown in 1792, that we know all these details about the oasis of Siwa until that date. This manuscript contains very precise facts and explanations so that there can be no doubt about the historical accuracy. Since Brown’s visit in Siwa in 1792, there are precise records of the oasis.

KleopatrabadIn 1820 Siwa was incorporated into Egyptian national territory. Since then there were repeated rebellions of the Siwan people, all of which were put down by the Egyptian rulers.

Also during World War I and II, Siwa was repeatedly in the front line of the warring parties  (such as Italians, Turks, Germans and British).

From 1911-12, the Italians occupied parts of Libya. They met, however, with heavy resistance from the Sinusi, a tribe who had settled in Siwa for some time. Thus, also Siwa was involved in this conflict.

Amun-TempelThe conflict escalated when the Sinusi and the Turks declared war on the Italians and the British during World War I.

During World War II, Siwa was the southernmost point in the British line of defence in Libya against the Italians. In July 1942, Italian troups occupied Siwa.

After visit of the German Africa Corps under the leadership of Rommel on the 21st of September, 1942, the Italian troups withdrew already in November of the same year.

The modern development of the oasis of Siwa begins with a visit by the Egyptian President Mubarak in 1996.

Die Oase Siwa

 

 

Geografie

 

Die Oase Siwa ist ein kleines Paradies mit einer überwältigenden Fauna, 590 km südwestlich von Alexandria inmitten der Wüste, zwischen einer Felswüste im Westen, einer Sandwüste im Osten und der Kattara-Senke im Nordosten.

 

ShaliSiwa befindet sich in einem geschlossenen Becken, dessen tiefster Punkt 17 m unter NN liegt. Siwa erstreckt sich über eine Fläche von 750 km² und hat in Ost-West-Richtung eine Länge von 80 km und in Nord-Süd-Richtung eine Breite von 25 km.

 

Das Städtchen Siwa ist recht jungen Datums. Es liegt unmittelbar östlich von Shali, einer typischen Bergfestung der Sahara, welche dem dortigen Berbervolk als Wohn- und Wehrstadt diente, dann aber bei einer Umweltkatastrophe im Jahr 1926 schwer zerstört worden war und nach und nach aufgegeben wurde.

 

Die planmäßige Umsiedlung der Bevölkerung von Shali nach Siwa begann 1944. Im Jahre 1962 erhielt Siwa das Stadtrecht.

 

Östlich der Festungsruine Shali befindet sich der Marktplatz von Siwa. Nördlich dieses Marktes befinden sich die meisten öffentlichen Einrichtungen wie Moscheen, Rathaus, Polizei, Busterminal, Bank, Krankenhaus, Postamt, Telefonamt, Touristeninformation und Kulturhaus mit einem Theater.

 

OasenkernNördlich und östlich des Marktplatzes befindet sich auch der Großteil der Gaststätten, Hotels, Arztpraxen, Apotheken, Minimärkte, Internet-Cafes sowie einer Tankstelle. In Süden der Stadt sind weiträumige Sportanlagen zu finden.

 

Die Stadt ist nicht sehr groß. Der meiste innerstädtische Transport von Personen und Sachen wird auch heute noch mit Eselskarren bewältigt.

 

Gesellschaft top

 

Die Bewohner von Siwa sind Berber, vermischt mit Beduinen und Nachkommen sudanesischer Sklaven. In der Oase leben insgesamt etwa 25 000 Einwohner, verteilt auf sechs Siedlungen, von denen die Stadt Siwa mit etwa 12 000 Einwohnern das wirtschaftliche Zentrum der Oase bildet.

 

BevölkerungDie übrigen Orte sind Aghurmi, Abu Shuruf, Kamisa, Balad al Rum, und Bahi al Din, in nach Bevölkerung absteigender Folge.

 

In Siwa wird die Berbersprache Siwi gesprochen. Somit ist die Oase die einzige berberische Sprachinsel Ägyptens mit einer eigenständischen kulturellen Entwicklung.

 

Die Sitten und Gebräuche der Bewohner von Siwa, die sie sich bis heute erhalten haben, erscheinen selbst für Ägypter fremd. Diese Kultur findet ihren Ausdruck u. a. in einem reichhaltigen und einzigartigen Angebot an handwerklichen Produkten, etwa traditionelle Kleider und Silberschmuck, Teppiche, Körbe und anderes Mobiliar für den Haushalt.

 

Eine eindrucksvolle Sammlung dieses besonderen kulturellen Stils findet sich neuerdings in einem kleinen Museum im Stadtzentrum ausgestellt.

 

FreitagsmarktSchon seit frühen pharaonischen Zeiten bilden Dattel- und Olivenkulturen die Lebensgrundlage der Oasenbewohner. Heute schätzt man die Zahl der Dattelpalmen auf 300 000 und die der Olivenbäume auf 70 000.

 

Für den lokalen Verbrauch werden gleichfalls Gemüse, Feigen, Trauben, Aprikosen, Orangen und andere Agrarprodukte angebaut.

 

Geschichte top

 

Der Name Siwa leitet sich aus dem altägyptischen ‚Sekhetam’ ab und bedeutet Palmenland.

 

DattelpalmenDie Oase Siwa blickt auf eine lange und bewegte Geschichte zurück. Feuersteinfunde aus dem Neolithikum belegen, dass die Oase sehr früh besiedelt wurde. Zur Zeit der Pharaonen lag sie im Grenzgebiet zwischen den ägyptischen und den libyschen Völkern.

 

Die heute älteste vorhandene Ruine, der Orakeltempel von Amun, stammt aus der Zeit der 26.Dynastie der Pharaonen (663 - 525 v. Chr.) und wurde von König Amosis gebaut. Der Amun-Kult hatte lange Zeit sehr großen Einfluss auf die Menschen des Mittelmeergebietes.

 

Der Perserkönig Kambyses wollte Siwa besetzen und den Tempel zerstören. Dieser Versuch wurde aber von der Bevölkerung Siwas vereitelt. Nach diesem Feldzug gewann Siwa gegenüber anderen Orakeln (sogar dem von Delphi) noch mehr an Bedeutung und wurde regelmäßig von Persönlichkeiten der Antike aufgesucht.

 

Orakel-TempelSo kam 331 v. Chr. Alexander der Große nach Siwa, um sich als Herr der Welt bestätigen zu lassen. Obwohl das Orakel bereits 23 v. Chr. als nahezu aufgehoben galt, war der Tempel 160 n. Chr. immer noch in Betrieb.

 

Das endgültige Ende des Orakelbetriebs wird auf das 3. bis 4. Jahrhundert n. Chr. datiert. Der Tempel wurde im 6. Jahrhundert durch die antiheidnische Politik des römischen Kaisers Justinius stillgelegt.

 

Christliche Elemente sind in Siwa seit dem 4. Jahrhundert zu finden. Während des 6. und 7. Jahrhunderts war die Oase Siwa Schauplatz schwerer kriegerischen Auseinandersetzungen.

 

Totenberg640- 42 n. Chr. eroberten muslimische Heere Ägypten und verbreiteten den Islam im Lande. Aber die westliche Wüste blieb davon verschont. Erst im 11. Jahrhundert wurde das Christentum durch den Islam aus Siwa verdrängt. Andere Quellen besagen, dass dies gänzlich erst im 14. Jahrhundert geschah.

 

Ohne das ‚Siwa-Manuskript’ von dem Briten Brown 1792 würden alle Informationen bis 1792 über die Oase fehlen. Dieses Manuskript enthält sehr genaue Fakten und Ausführungen, so dass keine Zweifel an der historischen Genauigkeit aufkommen können. Seit dem Besuch von Brown 1792 gibt es genaue Aufzeichnungen von der Oase.

 

Kleopatrabad1820 wurde Siwa in das ägyptische Staatsgebiet einverleibt. Seit der Eingliederung gab es immer wieder Aufstände der Siwaner, die alle von den ägyptischen Machthabern niedergeschlagen wurden.

 

Auch während des Ersten und Zweiten Weltkriegs war Siwa immer wieder Frontplatz der internationalen Kriegsteilnehmer (Italiener, Türken, Deutsche, Engländer).

 

1911-12 besetzten die Italiener Teile Libyens. Sie stießen aber auf gewaltige Gegenwehr vom Stamme der Sinusi, einem Stamm, der sich zeitweise in Siwa niederließ. So wurde auch Siwa in diesen Konflikt einbezogen.

 

Amun-TempelDer Konflikt eskalierte, als die Sinusi und die Türken während des Ersten Weltkriegs den Italienern und Engländern den Krieg erklärten.

 

Während des Zweiten Weltkriegs war Siwa der südlichste Punkt der britischen Landesverteidigung gegen die Italiener in Libyen. Im Juli 1942 besetzten italienische Truppen Siwa.

 

Nach dem Besuch des deutschen Afrikakorps unter Rommel am 21. September 1942 erfolgte der Abzug Italiens bereits im November 1942.

 

Die moderne Entwicklung der Oase Siwa beginnt mit einem Besuch des ägyptischen Präsidenten Mubarak im Jahre 1996.